Adding Profanity to Your Blog…True to Yourself vs. True to Your Readers.

swearing in cartoon

Image via Wikipedia

Recently, some of the web’s most popular bloggers have announced that they are going to start using profanity in their blogs.  Since they use profanity in their everyday lives, they feel that to be true to themselves they must use profanity in their posts.

I’m no saint and I have been known to use some swear words when angered.  I think some silently and mutter one under my breath at times.  When I was in high school and college, I was a real potty mouth when I was among my friends.  Now, out of respect to others, you will never hear me curse in a public place.  Many of my current friends and family members could not tell you of a time when they have heard me swear. Am I being untrue to myself?

It was last August when I first stumbled upon a blog about minimalist living.  I was intrigued by the lifestyle and read as many blog posts on the subject as I could find.  Several months later, I decided that I would like to start a blog of my own detailing my experiences with minimalism and to encourage others to try the lifestyle.  Once again, I read many blog posts on how to have a successful blog and I purchased some e-books on the subject.

Although each author used their own way to express what it takes to have a successful blog, there seems to be a common theme:  write great content that has value for your readers.

I subscribe to the blogs I am talking about in this post for exactly those reasons.  They are excellent writers and have given me valuable information.  In reviewing some of their posts that were most helpful to me, I don’t see where using the f-word as an adjective would have either improved the content or made the article more valuable to me. Will “being true to themselves” by using profanity in the future improve the content in their posts and make them more valuable to their readers, or will it distract from their message?  Is being f-ing awesome a higher level than being awesome?

One author mentioned that they might lose some readers by using profanity.  I will continue to subscribe to his blog because I am confident that he will continue to produce great content that is helpful to me.  It is a shame that his decision to use profanity may cause people to unsubscribe from his blog or to decide not to subscribe because of the language.  Those people will miss out on the great things he has to say.  I wonder if anyone decides not to subscribe to a blog because they could find no profanity?

I encourage these authors to weigh this “being true to yourself” against the value and insight they offer to their readers.  I believe most of us do not think we are being untrue to ourselves when we choose not to use profanity in public places.  Their blogs are public places.  The decision is theirs, hopefully they will do what offers the best content and value to their readers.

As for me, I also aspire to be awesome.  If I have to use a word that begins with the letter f as an adjective, I’ll settle for being Fantastically Awesome!

Works for me.  Any Comments?

_____________________________________________________

If this is your first visit to my blog, please review my posts on living a simpler, uncluttered life.  A good place to start is “A Call for Change, Make 2011 the Year of Less”.

 

 

3 responses to “Adding Profanity to Your Blog…True to Yourself vs. True to Your Readers.

  1. I’ve always followed this rule: Make every word count. If profanity adds to meaning, then it may count. I cannot recall having written a single piece anywhere about any profane word, so I’ll bet you can guess the number of profanities that have appeared in my writing.

  2. Wow…that is a different and “interesting” point of view about being true to oneself by using profanity. My dad never used a swear word in my hearing in his entire life. I also rarely use profanity and certainly not as adjectives or adverbs. I do not like to read a lot of profanity and I am not comfortable with it on movies either. That’s just me I guess.

    IF I was wired for using profanity a lot, perhaps I would think it necessary to use it in my writing. Maybe I would use it on personal/diary type of blogs. However, if I were writing a blog to be a service to others with information, I just can’t see that using profanity would be a help in any way.

  3. Thank you for this post. I went through Tanja’s list of bloggers and picked out quite a few new ones I wanted to subscribe to. However I do not want to read profanity. There were a couple with good content that I didn’t subscribe to because of the profanity, and a couple more that I quickly unsubscribed from because of the profanity. I guess the bloggers can write whatever they want, but I don’t have to read it.

Leave a Reply

