Chasing My Goals Through Running

It had been a long time since I had reached a meaningful goal. Yesterday I reached an important goal of mine. I participated in an official 5K!

Why did I choose to start running? I guess because right now running is one of the few things that makes me feel good about myself. After 40 years of smoking, I finally quit about 2 1/2 years ago. That was also a major accomplishment. As I started to feel better not smoking, I just felt like running.

Before I quit I doubt I could have run 50 yards without collapsing. At first I measured my progress by how many steps I could run before I had to start walking. I remember coming home excited to tell my wife I was able to run 500 steps. Then I started measuring my progress by my time running 5K. When I first finished under 45 minutes, I began to believe I could get under 40 minutes. Now that I run at 35 minutes, I believe I can get under 30.

Why is reaching this goal so important to me? I know many people will wonder what is the big deal about completing a 5K. I didn’t win any awards. I finished in 131st place overall and 7th out of 16 in my age group. It is important because I needed to succeed at something. I needed to complete a goal. I needed to start chasing the negative thoughts from my head.

It is so easy to start just drifting through life, accepting where you are and just happy to make it through another day, another week, another uneventful year. It is so easy to believe that the opportunity for personal growth is far behind you. I needed to prove to myself that I am not through growing and changing.

Completing this race gives me the confidence to pursue my other goals. It shows me that, with effort, I am capable of being a successful writer. I can find a way to support myself doing something I love rather than in retail management which I am so tired of doing.

So I sprinted the last quarter mile of this race, and as the finish line approached I was able to smile despite the physical effort. And when I crossed the finish line I shed a couple of tears because I realized that I CAN!

 

The goal of this blog is to share my journey to Live Simple, Live healthy and to Love what I’m doing. If you can relate to this blog please subscribe to my blog and/or like my Live Your Future Now Facebook page. If you know others who may benefit from my blog, PLEASE share this blog with them. Thank you for your support.

Leave a Reply

